Home About Lunch Events Evening Events Profession Links Contact Us
the media lunch club

the media lunch club was established in 1994, by producer Martin Cahill, as a non-profit making, and politically neutral, networking society and has grown to become the film, tv and media industry's premiere café du commerce.


Monthly lunches are held in London's West End (and a Brighton away-day lunch during the summer), with an invited guest speaker. Some of our previous speakers include:

Producers: Tim Bevan, Stephen Evans, Rebecca O'Brien, Richard Holmes, Jeremy Thomas, Duncan Kenworthy, Michael Kuhn, Nik Powell, Marc Samuelson, Richard Holmes, Michael Deeley, Simon Channing-Williams and Jeremy Bolt.


Directors: Sir Alan Parker, Waris Hussein, Roy Ward Baker, Vic Armstrong, Jack Cardiff, Ronnie Neame, Beban Kidron, Lewis Gilbert, John Glen, Guy Hamilton and Ray Harryhausen.

Executives: Duncan Reid (Ingenious), Greg Dyke, Ian Hutchinson (Silver Reel) Amanda Nevill (BFI), Stewart Till, Lenny Crooks (formerly of New Cinema Fund, UK Film Council), David Thompson, Steve Christian (Pinewood Films), Peter Bennett-Jones, Hilary Davis (Bankside); Mike Goodridge (Protagonist) John Woodward (former CEO, UK Film Council), Jane Lighting (former CEO Channel 5) and Lorraine Heggesey, Sara Geater.


Plus: Sir Roger Moore; Dick Clement; Honor Blackman; Sir Ronald Harwood; Patsy Pollock, Jon Hubbard and Jeremy Zimmerman (Casting Directors); David Cooke (director of BBFC); Dr Kim Howells MP & Shaun Woodward MP (former Film Ministers); Victor Spinetti (Actor); Nina Myscow (Broadcaster); Richard 'Jaws' Kiel (Actor \ Writer); Simon George (Ealing Studios Productions); Simon Oakes (Hammer Films) & many, many more.

the media lunch club also hosts a networking evening each year, our prestigious ' Martin Cahill Memorial Lecture'.


In 2009, we started holding the additional and occasional 'Briefing Lunches', to focus on a more specialised subject in an intimate board-room setting such as, most recently, a "Brexit and the implications on film industry" . These lunches are free, and have proven very popular.


Membership is inexpensive and open to all in the media business.


On April 19th Sir Alan Parker joined us for our 200th lunch, and cut the special birthday cake!

On April 19th Sir Alan Parker joined us for our 200th lunch, and cut the special birthday cake!

u More information about the media lunch club

next lunch
Jay Sanghrajka

Jay Sanghrajka
Tax Partner, Price Bailey LLP

Friday February 23rd 2018


There is no doubt soft money, tax breaks and investments-in-kind have played a valuable role in film making. However, there is always a need for pure equity as invariably this equity unlocks all the above other elements; but raising said equity invariably proves to be a stumbling block.


The Exchequer made (favourable) changes to the Enterprise Investment Scheme (EIS) in the November 2017 budget by doubling the maximum investment in EIS schemes from £1m to £2m. From April 6 2018 an individual investor will now be able to earn up to £600,000 in tax relief, up from £300,000 in the current tax year. Investors earn 30 per cent tax relief on investments in EIS as an incentive to drive funds towards higher-risk companies. For lower budget films and development slates this could prove to be invaluable and instrumental in green-lighting.


Jay is a specialist in both UK and international tax planning and has almost 40 years’ experience in advising clients ranging from public companies and substantial private companies to local family businesses. He will explain, clearly and simply, the added benefits and workings of EIS and SEIS in film financing.

u Click here for more Information and to book places
u Previous Lunches

next evening event

To be confirmed

u Previous Events



H.W.Fisher Chartered Accountants

 u Site Map
Contact the Webmaster
Website Content © The Media Lunch Club 1994 - 2018


Join us on Facebook Join our Twitter feed